Got a DUI & I Need SR 22 Car Insurance in Georgia

In the United States alone, different states have different laws pertaining to DUI. In Georgia, for example, first and foremost, it is illegal to have an automobile vehicle (even golf carts) without liability insurance coverage. Letting a person without insurance drive the vehicle is also illegal.

The state of Georgia refers to them as mandatory liability coverage. The minimum mandatory liability coverage for Georgia is as follows:

1. One accident, one person physical injuries – $25,000.00
2. One accident, two or more persons physical injuries – $50,000.00
3. One accident, property damage – $25,000.00

In any case, the police officer will ask the driver for proof of mandatory liability coverage. IDs or papers from the insurance company must be presented.

If the insurance has lapsed during time of accident, the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles shall suspend the vehicle operator’s privileges or driving license until insurance has been renewed.

Now with DUI situations, the police officer would need a special kind of auto insurance called SR 22 car insurance or a high-risk auto insurance. This is proof of financial stability of the vehicle operator. It is a guarantee that the driver will keep the minimum insurance coverage for a given time.

SR 22 car insurances are special auto insurance such that the Department of Motor Vehicle and the car insurers classify especially those high-risk drivers that need this high-risk insurance.

High-risk drivers are basically those that exhibit poor driving habits (which can lead to DUI). Demographics such as the gender and age help insurers settle on whether to issue SR 22 car insurance.

SR 22 car insurances have two types of policies-

1. Owner policy – This is the policy for the owner of the motor vehicle. This can be issued with comprehensive coverage and others, of course with additional premiums to pay.

2. Non-owner policy – This is for the operator of the motor vehicle but not necessarily the owner. The car insurance company files the SR 22 and then the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles also gets a copy. Motorcycles are also covered by the SR 22.

The Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles decide the time table as to which the SR 22 takes effect. All of this is based on the gravity of the infringement. Something like a DUI could take years.

Georgia Department of Insurance Health & Life Insurance Producers – Mouth of the New South

The Georgia Department of Insurance health & life insurance producers have broken a new mold. They have led the Southern rebellion, changing from laid back to aggressive insurance reps to be reckoned with. In the last few years, Georgia insurance marketing has leaped ahead of near and far away states. Not that long ago debit agents in Georgia, like most southern states prevailed. These health and life insurance producers sold very small premium insurance policies on their established routes, where weekly or monthly premiums collections would be picked up from their clients. (Sort of like playing the neighborhood numbers game, before the state lotteries knocked them out of competition?). As these debit agents were employees of the insurance company, when they left, so did their unvested renewals. An old route as simply assigned to a new agent trainee joining the company.

Needless to mention, low income potential, high training costs, agent awareness, and modern banking policies have fairly well decreased debit life insurance company presence to becoming a minimal factor nowadays. When I refer to Georgia insurance producers becoming the “mouth of the south,” this reflects on many of these southerners formerly waiting back for the train to come in. Georgia is often a highly underrated state, where misconceptions abound. Georgia residents have an income level slightly below that of the national average. That is typical of all southern states. The noteworthy factor is that the median income of Georgia insurance agent families is $10,000 more than those in Arkansas, and Mississippi. A very positive note effecting Georgia Insurance Agents, Georgia has experienced major population growth. The average state experienced 5.3% population increase between 2000 and 2005. In Georgia, the amount more than doubled the average, becoming a 10.8% increase.

These Georgia insurance agents suddenly had approximately 1,000,000 new potential clients to sell to. Moreover, a lot of these were established families with good incomes moving into the state. In fact, 12.4 % of the households have a $100,000 or higher income. This is not typical of many southern states. This is a great opportunity for Georgia insurance agents to offer annuity and financial products. In addition, as the number of seniors is percentage wise, much lower than most states, health agents should concentrate more on the healthy individual, worksite, and group plans My Georgia advice: Stay OUT of Atlanta.

Georgia is split in two zones, 55% of the licensed agents in the Atlanta Area, Zips 300-303. The other 45% are outside this metropolitan area. On the demand for Georgia agent recruiting, probably four will be for the Atlanta area, 2 for the entire state, and 1 for areas outside Atlanta. That would mean that Atlanta area agents receive 85% of insurance recruiting solicitations. 42% of the mail would be sent to rural agents. In addition, Atlanta agents are bombarded with almost daily solicitations by fax, email, or telemarketing.

Two recruiting tips. One: Atlanta area brokers, and Georgia rural agents, broker almost the same amount of business, with roughly the same number of total insurance carriers. Two: A rural Georgia agent is twice as likely to stay loyal to you, that the Atlanta city slicker. Our database indicates this very distinctly. We examine the frequency a Georgia insurance agent signs with another insurance company. Make your move to reward yourself with a sweet piece of the Georgia pie, rural style. Some Statistics. The state population in 2005 increased almost 11% upward since 2000 to over 9,000,000. The number of agents to thousand residents is a respectable, not overcrowded 3.6 agents. A strong median family income along with a strong percentage of high school graduates illustrates a strong economic base.

Georgia Auto Insurance Requirements

Liability Coverage

Georgia requires all drivers who own a vehicle to carry auto liability insurance which covers the cost of bodily injury to others in addition to property damage caused to others by an at-fault accident. The state of Georgia requires liability insurance limits of $25,000 for bodily injury for injury or death of one person, $50,000 bodily injury for injury or death to more than one person, and $25,000 for property damage. Although liability insurance is the only coverage that is required by law, uninsured motorist coverage provides protection against drivers who do not have any auto insurance at all. Uninsured motorist bodily injury and uninsured property damage coverage provides protection against drivers who do not have any auto insurance at all. Uninsured motorist bodily injury and uninsured property damage coverage would protect a driver if he or she is injured and/or sustains property damage by an uninsured motorist.

Georgia’s Auto Insurance Database

When a new auto insurance policy is purchased, the insurance company is required to electronically download the driver’s insurance information to the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS) within thirty (30) days of the inception of the policy. The electronic transmission on the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) sent by the auto insurance company must match the VIN on the Georgia Department of Revenue Tag & Title database. If auto insurance information is not received within thirty (30) days, the state will suspend a driver’s registration. In order for a motorist to have their registration reinstated, a lapse fee of $25 and a $60 reinstatement fee must be paid. In order to register or renew a vehicle’s registration, proof of coverage must be on file with the Georgia Department of Revenue. The registered vehicle owner can check the status of his auto insurance by visiting the Department’s website and entering in their VIN. It is still a good idea for a driver to keep a physical copy of his or hers Identification card especially when traveling out of state. An ID card may also be needed in the event that a driver is involved in an accident.

The penalty for the first offense for driving without insurance in Georgia is a 60-day driver’s license suspension and a $200 fine. The penalty for two or more offenses is a 90-day driver’s license suspension and a $300 fine. In addition, an SR-22 insurance policy is required to reinstate a suspended driver’s license to be maintained for three (3) years after the conviction date.

How to Get Affordable Home Insurance in Georgia Online

You can find affordable home insurance in Georgia online by doing a specific search for just that – “affordable home insurance in Georgia.” As you are searching databases of insurance companies that provide Georgia homeowner insurance, keep the following in mind:

Set aside enough time. The Internet makes allows you to find a great deal of information in a short amount of time, but home insurance is a more important purchase than anything you will buy on eBay. You will be spending money to protect your home, so you want to get the best coverage for the best price. Shop around and compare various home insurance policies in Georgia before making a decision.

Remember to check out the Georgia Department of Insurance website. The Georgia Department of Insurance website has a plethora of information for homeowners seeking affordable home insurance in Georgia. On the website you will find a thorough brochure about how to protect yourself and your home against natural disasters (and Georgia is certainly prone to them!), as well as a nifty little tool that allows you to compare homeowner insurance policies and rates.

Contact the Consumer Services Division of the Georgia Department of Insurance with any problems. The Consumer Services Division handles all matters concerning home insurance in Georgia between policyholders, agents, and insurers. If you have a complaint or an unsettled matter, simply contact the Consumer Services Department to have the problem evaluated and solved.

The insurance company must be licensed in Georgia. There are many sketchy “insurance companies” out there that are here today and gone tomorrow. Unfortunately, “gone tomorrow,” for policyholders, may mean unsettled claims and lost money. If you have a problem with an insurance company, the Georgia Department of Insurance can’t help you if the insurance company in question is not licensed to sell home insurance in Georgia. Always make sure the company is licensed in Georgia before purchasing a home insurance policy.

Lowering The Cost Of Auto Insurance

Georgia auto insurance is higher than in other states. This makes it imperative to try and get lower rates. This can be done in different ways. One is to get quotes and choose the lowest rates that offer adequate coverage and service. There are other tips that will help lower costs as well.

Contrary to what other states require, a card from the insurer as proof of coverage is not sufficient. They directly contact the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS) to verify coverage. Any changes you make in your coverage must by law be reported to this service by the insurer. Law officers have instant access to what is happening with your coverage.

This state is also able to legally check for your coverage in more situations than other states allow. A law enforcement officer can check for coverage any time you are driving your vehicle. They may also check when you are pulled over for a traffic stop, as well as during an accident. In addition, any time you newly register, renew registration, and apply for, replace, or renew your license tag they can check.

Companies are required to report to the Georgia Department of Driver Services any time coverage is discontinued. The state may then require you bring in documentation to verify that you have replaced that coverage. If you do not have coverage and are caught driving without it, or if involved in an accident without adequate coverage, the penalties can be severe. You will have your registration either suspended or revoked. Fines are severe, and you may even have your car impounded.

For subsequent violations, penalties are even more serious and more costly. For each occurrence after the first, the registration is suspended for increasing lengths of time, from three months up to six months for the fourth occurrence. Driving without proper registration results in additional fines and penalties. Reinstatement fees must be paid and coverage must be kept in force without interruption for varying amounts of time.

An SR-22 is required to be filed by your Georgia auto insurance provider after certain events. These events involve reinstating a suspended license based on certain conditions. These include after suspension for not paying an accident judgment, for not maintaining proof of financial responsibility, after being charged with a DUI, and for any other offense that requires suspension. Not all insurers will file the SR-22. If you require one, you may need to do a search to find someone who will provide it.